1 Comment

Douceur de France

The Reviews:

Pepper

Skillet cheated on me and ate here last week. A new place. Without me. Not that I am bitter or anything (coughcoughjerkcough). Anyway, parking was behind the building, as was a porch where a few diners were already enjoying the sunny, but coolish morning. Inside felt slightly cramped and it always makes me a little crazy when a crowded restaurant doesn’t have any kind of wait list. I need order, people! We quickly snagged the last open table as more folks were coming in behind us. Our table faced the rest of the restaurant so we got to people watch and I noticed that all kinds of folks frequent this place – families, seniors, hipsters, couples – you name it. This place seems family run (complete with mother-daughter angst) which adds to the overall warm and friendly feeling of the place.

The waitress greeted us with a “Bonjour” and I got to use what little French I know exchanging pleasantries. Skillet and I both ordered hot tea and each received our own tea pots with at least 2 cups full of water and an assortment of teas.  I am normally not a huge breakfast eater and thought about ordering the Tourte au Poulet (a chicken pot pie-type dish covered in a creamy mushroom sauce), but I knew we would be having a pretty rich meal that night at 5&10. So, I went back and forth between the quiche or the 3 egg omelette before just asking the waitress. She suggested the omelette so I went with that adding bacon, mushrooms, green onions and provolone cheese. 3 eggs doesn’t seem that big when you say it, but this sucker was huge. It was probably the fluffiest omelette I have ever seen and it had just the right amount of filling. It was pretty much the perfect omelette (Sorry, Dad). And it came with a croissant (which I planned on saving for later, but once I took a bite I couldn’t stop eating it either). We will be back as I will have that tourte!

Skillet

Yes, I ate there without her, and I’d do it again in a heartbeat.  I had the Salmon Panini on my first visit, and I fully intended to get something different on my return, but I just couldn’t do it.  This is their version of Eggs Benedict and consisted of two poached eggs sitting atop smoked salmon, thinly sliced tomatoes and a slice of french bread, all topped with hollandaise sauce.  It was really good the first time I ate there, but it was even better the second time.  The eggs were perfectly poached and the runny yolks made the hollandaise even better.  The smoked salmon didn’t overpower the dish, and the acidity in the tomatoes balanced the whole thing out nicely.  The potatoes served with the meal were good, but the star of the show was definitely the panini.

I thought the service was excellent.  The food took a little while to come out, but it was worth the wait.  If you’re in a hurry, order something from the pastry case up front or go to the Chik Fil A up the street.  One thing that I particularly appreciated was the fact that our waitress was attentive without hovering over our table.  When I’m eating breakfast out somewhere, I don’t need rainbows and sunshine sprinkled all over me.  Just bring me my food, make sure it’s right, then let me eat it.  She came by and checked on us once or twice, and even though the restaurant was packed, I never felt rushed.  All in all, this was a great find that would be perfect to bring the whole family to for brunch.  I’m looking forward to trying their lunch menu on my next visit.

The Rundown:

Douceur de France
1173 Alpharetta St.
Roswell, Georgia 30075
770-650-1173

Douceur de France is a small breakfast and lunch restaurant specializing in French pastries and dishes.  They have another location in Marietta.  We ate here for brunch on a Saturday morning and the dining room was full the whole time we were there.

Type of Food: Breakfast and French (Menu)
Portions: Ginormous
Service: Getting the Full 20%
Location: Didn’t scare Pepper
Acceptable Dress: Flip Flops
Bathrooms: Feels Like Home
Cost: $29.00 (with tax and tip)
Afforkable Rating: Add to Regular Rotation

Douceur De France on Urbanspoon

One comment on “Douceur de France

Leave a Reply

